Day 14: Motivation, Healthy Skin and Battling Demons

I don’t know if it was the cold weather or having an empty house this weekend…but my motivation was seriously lacking. You would think with a quiet, empty house and no one to cook for, that I would get all kinds of things done.  Not so much.  Maybe I just needed a ‘do nothing’ day. Today is sunny and the family is back and I already feel better.  I love running outside along the gorgeous trails around here.  I’ve seen coyotes, deer, porcupine, humongous owls, red-tailed hawks and a fox.  Just being outside in the beautiful weather is motivating. When it’s cold and grey I really struggle with motivation to get outside or to find an exercise activity inside.  So, occasionally I have to give myself a pep talk and to re-evaluate my priorities.  I need to remind myself:

  • I will never be as young as I am today.
  • Being busy or stressed is no excuse; anyone can ‘be good’ during the easy times.  When you can do that during the stressful times is when you know you have beaten your demons; whether it is quitting smoking, drinking or junk food.
  • What are you waiting for?  Are you waiting for it to be easy?  It will never be easy, but it will be worth it.
  • EVERYTHING is better with a healthy body.  Mental acuity, emotional stability, shopping for clothes, romance, being in photographs, getting a good night of sleep and playing sports are just a few.  I mean, even your underwear feels better!
  • WHAT ARE YOUR CHALLENGES?  WHAT KEEPS YOU MOTIVATED?

I made the Refreshing Complexion Cocktail again and it occurred to me that all of the ingredients would make a fabulous facial mask. I took the shredded parts from the juicer and added 1-2 T. of yogurt. I think that Greek yogurt would help to hold it together better.  Spread on face and leave for about 5 minutes.  Rinse, moisturize and apply sunblock.  Warning: the bromelain from the pineapple and the acid in the yogurt pack quite  punch.  You may want to try just the cuke and pineapple first.

Cucumber is high in anti-oxidants and vitamin C.  Cucumber is great for conditions like rosacea or any redness.  For the benefits of cucumber juice, go to this link: http://www.livestrong.com/article/246009-benefits-of-juicing-a-cucumber/calming effect on skin, or scroll over the above picture for the link.

Bromelain is found in pineapples and by itself is a pretty amazing enzyme.  Bromelain breaks down protein (which makes it a fabulous meat tenderizer and digestive) and can help slough off dead skin cells.  In addition, it is a powerful anti-inflammatory agent and is showing promise in some studies in Europe as being as effective as NSAIDs and for helping sinusitis.   http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/bromelain/

What about the yogurt?  According to Organic Authority,  “When topically applied to the skin, velvety yogurt will help moisturize, fight acne, prevent premature aging, relieve sunburn and reduce discoloration. It’s an all-around beauty multitasker. ” Is it too good to be true?  See for yourself:  http://www.organicauthority.com/delicious-beauty/5-skin-rejuvenating-treatments-using-yogurt.html.  You can scroll over the picture below for the link.

FOR SENSITIVE SKIN:  Leave out the pineapple and yogurt.  Take the cucumber and add enough oatmeal to make a paste.  Next time you can try a little pineapple on a small area and see how your skin reacts.

EATING OUT

I’m trying to find restaurant food out there that is relatively healthy.  Last night I ordered a pizza loaded with vegetables and no cheese.  It would have been healthier with thin crust, but it wasn’t an option.  Of course, it would have tasted better with cheese.  I’ve found some good vegetarian dishes at Chinese restaurants that don’t use MSG.  The sodium is probably through the roof.

PROCRASTINATION

Writing this blog is so much more enjoyable than doing statistics homework.  I’ve put it off all weekend and now I must stop my whining, put my big girl britches on and Just Do It. 

3 thoughts on “Day 14: Motivation, Healthy Skin and Battling Demons

Leave a Reply

