Day 8: Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead

A fascinating journey of an unhealthy Aussie who decides to take charge of his health and life with a 60 day juice fast is documented in Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.   He drives across America talking to people about what they eat and why.  A truck driver crosses his path and they discover that they both suffer from the same autoimmune disease.  I won’t give away any more details, but it is worth watching. This film is seriously inspiring. If you think you are too far gone and there is no way that you could ever be in shape again, watch this movie. It’s on Netflix.  I was surprised when Dr. Fuhrman showed up in this flick.  He does a good job of explaining the ETL food pyramid and the science behind it.  To find out more about Joe Cross and his health mission, visit his website called Reboot Your Life at www.jointhereboot.com.

If you visit the site, let me know what you think.  I’d love to hear from anyone who has seen his film.

I went to website and found some amazing juicing recipes.  I’ve been juicing (and studying) all day.  I can see how a juice fast could get you jump-started on a program.  Also, juice is easier to pack if you have to worry about commuting.  I juiced for lunch and dinner, but I was REALLY hungry by 10pm, so I had some hummus and pita chips.  Still, I may try to do it for a couple of days.  My daughter came home for the weekend and she has a cold, so I made her some fresh juice with tons of vitamin C.  The first concoction was raspberries, strawberries and watermelon.  The second drink was pineapple, orange, ginger and fresh coconut water.  Hopefully it will help her a bit.

My absolute favorite juice recipe comes from Cherie Calbom’s The Juice Lady’s Juicing for High-Level Wellness and Vibrant Good Looks.  I don’t even know if that book is still in print.  Anyway, this drink is fabulous!  I just wish that it had a more appealing name.  It’s called The Colon Cleanser. See what I mean?  Honestly, I don’t find it particularly cleansing but it is very fresh and delicious.  Here goes: two apples, one bunch of spinach, 1/4 lemon and a handful of parsley.  

Fall has definitely arrived here in the Rocky Mountains!  We had our first bit of snow this morning.  Unfortunately our heirloom tomatoes weren’t quite finished.  We picked them and are hoping that they will ripen indoors.  We placed some in a sunny windowsill, some in a paper bag and we hung a few plants in the basement.  We’ll see which ones ripen the best.  A late hail storm destroyed our first tomato plants and we planted the replacements in June.  Our watermelons didn’t get very big but they were still sweet.  We were able to pick two pumpkins.  There are several more on the vine that are green, but I don’t hold out much hope for them.

SCHOOL

I don’t remember what number I left off for my “Things I’ve Learned About Grad School”, but I have a few more things to add.

  • The order is: coursework, sit for comps, submit proposal and write dissertation.
  • Chapters 1-3 of the dissertation are the proposal! Yay.
  • There are some very bad dissertations floating around out in cyberspace.
  • Quantitative statistics sucks.
Leave a Reply

