Day 3: Lots of lean protein? Maybe not.

Losing 8.5 pounds and 2 inches off of my waist sure helps the motivation factor!  Although I’ve only been blogging about the Eat to Live program for a few days, I’ve been doing ETL for a couple of weeks and exercising.  I started out experimenting with a few recipes and eliminating 1 or 2 two junkie types of food from my diet.  After a few days, I decided to jump in with both feet.  A lot of the motivation comes from knowing that I am doing more than losing weight.  I’m increasing my fiber, antioxidants and overall nutrition.  I’m getting healthier.  With each chapter that I read in ETL, I become more convinced that eating this way is the path to feeling better now and as I age.

Do you know what finally convinced me to try this?  I saw a woman on Dr. Oz who had started the ETL plan (and when I say ‘plan’ or ‘program’, I’m just referring to eating guidelines from Dr. Fuhrman.  He includes a Six Week Plan in chapter 7 or 8).  Anyway, this lady was rather large.  I think she was well over 300 lb.s when she started ETL.  She said that after only a couple of weeks her energy levels soared and she just felt better.  At the time of the interview on Dr. Oz she was still big, but she felt great and she was getting smaller every week.  She said that she always thought the fatigue came from being so overweight, but she found that it was mostly from putting junk into her body. Of course, once she felt better she got out and exercised more which gave her more energy…you see the pattern here.  Another lady on the show was thin but suffered from migraines.  Improving her diet drastically reduced her migraines and allergies.

So, the protein issue.  What’s that all about?  I’ll admit that my husband and I have done Atkins.  I hated it; he loved it.  There are other variations of Atkins around, but according to Dr. Fuhrman the most dangerous ‘low carb diet’ is the South Beach Diet.  The repeated cycling in and out of ketosis wreaks havoc on metabolism and your heart.  One of the problems is that we don’t need that much protein and it puts stress on the kidneys and  a build up of uric acid (gout) can occur.  My mom has suffered with chronic kidney stones for a long time.  Wanting to lose a little weight, she went to see a doctor and he put her on a low carb, high protein diet.  Needless to say, her kidney stones got worse.  She is the last person that needs added strain on her kidneys, but convincing her that what she eats or doesn’t eat can help her to feel better is an uphill battle.

The dangerous part of eating so much protein is that animal protein has saturated fat.  Saturated fat blocks arteries.  Cheese is loaded with more fat than nutrients, and dairy has been shown to increase inflammatory processes in the body. Scientists are just now beginning to understand how chronic inflammation significantly contributes to many disease processes.  However, leafy greens like Romaine lettuce contains antioxidants, fiber, calcium, protein and Omega- 3.  Yes!  Lettuce has protein! Google it. Go on, you know you want to because you can’t believe that wimpy ‘ol lettuce has any protein.  Two cups has about a gram of protein.  Throw a few beans on top along with some sliced vegetables and you have a perfectly nutritious cancer and heart disease fighting meal.  No cheese needed.

Here are the nutrients in the humble Romaine lettuce:  riboflavin, vitamin B6, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, copper, fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin K, thiamin, folate, iron, potassium and manganese.

My Menu for Day 3

I didn’t write down everything I ate, but I made more of the Amazing Chocolate Balls-a double batch actually.  A baked sweet potato was lunch.  Even plain, it tasted great.  I did have a handful of low sodium potato chips last night.  Not much nutritional value, but I’m over it.  I’m not going to dwell on being less than perfect-just gonna move along! UPDATE: The Fuhrman Plan allows for a 10% cheat.  As long as you are eating 90% nutrient dense foods, then a small treat is allowed.

I have decided that I’m not a big fan of Dr. Fuhrman’s Famous Anti-Cancer Soup.  I tried to like it, I really did.  I WANT to like it, mostly because it uses 4-6 zucchinis and we have an ABUNDANCE of zucchini from our garden.  Also, it is sure to be mega-healthy.  Maybe I can make some adjustments to suit my taste.  It goes without saying that no one in my family has been begging for the soup. 🙂

I’m anxious to try the ETL recipe Banilla Nice Cream.  It’s an all natural dairy-free ice cream recipe that uses frozen bananas and coconut cream.  I need a couple more bananas to make it.  I’ll post the results tomorrow.

FAMILY

My husband, daughter and Golden Retriever headed up to the mountains to fish and visit grandparents.  Our dog LOVES to fish.  Ken said that it is gorgeous up around the Collegiate Peaks and I’m glad that he and Kaitlyn got to have some time together.  Jacob and I stayed here because he had an appointment for senior pictures.  We went to Blue Talon, (http://bluetalonfoto.com) the same place we used for Kaitlyn.  The photographer, Jerry is amazing.  He has a knack for connecting to kids and figuring out what makes them unique.  He got poses that I never would have imagined. His good friend, Matt came along and that made the experience even better.  So, needless to say you will be seeing pictures of my handsome posted here soon.  🙂

SCHOOL

I have been very impressed with various creative ways that I am able to postpone statistics homework.  I mean, I really excel at this particular skill. Last night I worked until about 2 am and didn’t crack open the stat book once.  I did get a major project finished for the class that I am teaching, so that’s good.  Maybe today I will open up that book and start reading.  My husband shared a secret to making stats easier: read the assigned chapters before the lecture.  Well, duh.  Why wasn’t I smart enough to realize that on my own?  Now if I can just find a way to get motivated to do that reading…oh look, it’s so bright and sunny outside today.  A slight breeze is blowing-oh, a cute kid just rode by on his little bike.  Did I check the garden today.  I should really go down there right now and work in the garden- but maybe I should go run before it gets hot-but my knee is kind of bothering me.  I could go for a bike ride instead.  I do need some bananas and Romaine lettuce.  I could just ride to Vitamin Cottage.  Now, what were we talking about?

One thought on “Day 3: Lots of lean protein? Maybe not.

Leave a Reply

