Eat to Live: Day 2

Today I had a breakfast buffet at a hotel, but I think I managed to do ok.  My daughter is coming home today, so I baked some cookies.  The Amazing Chocolate Balls were great to have on hand when those cookies started smelling so good!  I’m trying a couple of new recipes tonight.

Reading Eat to Live today, I was encouraged by the simple suggestions.  Changing habits doesn’t have to be drastic.  This is from chapter 6, I think.

What if all Americans:

  • ate a large bowl of green salad daily
  • had a large serving of steamed greens daily
  • ate a cup of beans daily
  • had at least an ounce of raw seeds and nuts daily
  • ate at least three fresh fruits daily
  • had some tomatoes, peppers, onions, mushrooms, herbs and garlic daily

A few simple changes can have a big impact on your health.

Breakfast

scrambled eggs

green chile

fresh fruit

oatmeal with dried cranberries

1/2 piece of whole wheat toast

black coffee

Lunch

I think I just snacked on fresh vegetables and ETL chocolate balls.  I was busy baking and making dinner.  I will do better tomorrow!

Dinner

1 cup Dr. Fuhrman’s Famous Anti-Cancer Soup

Roasted crockpot chicken

Broccoli with Roasted Garlic and Shallots

Evening

1/2 avocado

several chocolate balls (ETL recipe)

 

Crockpot Chicken

I sliced an onion and placed it on the bottom of the crockpot.  I then put apple slices, orange slices and fresh sage (3-4 sprigs) on top. I squeezed some of the juice out of the orange into the crockpot. Next, I took a whole chicken and seasoned it inside all over with Mrs. Dash and the Signature Blend from The Spice and Tea Exchange; just use your favorite seasoning mix.  The chicken goes right on top of the apple/onion mixture.  Put the lid on and turn it to high for 4-6 hours.  No liquid is needed.  After about 2 hours, I put some small potatoes in with the chicken.

To finish off the chicken, I mixed together 1 T. of apricot jam (fruit only) and 2 cloves of crushed garlic.  I brushed this on top of the chicken and placed the chicken under the broiler in my oven.  This last part is optional, but it gives the chicken a beautiful color.  Of course, I removed the skin before I ate my serving. 🙂 

The broccoli with roasted garlic and shallots was a new dish.  I have to be honest, as I was preparing the dish I wasn’t very excited.  However, it turned out to be very tasty.

Leave a Reply

