Eat to Live: 100 Days of Eating Clean

This past week I have been reading a fascinating book called Eat to Live, by Dr. Joel Furhman and I’ve started to adopt his philosophy for choosing which foods to eat.  The science behind which food makes us healthy is indisputable, but we all want to find a quick and easy way to get thin.  His way of eating is pretty drastic, but reading how much it can reduce cancer risk, lower cholesterol and heart disease risk and just make you feel better is pretty compelling.

I started this blog to document my journey of working toward my doctorate degree and the events of family life.  I will continue to do that, but I will include posts about Eat to Live at the beginning.  I’m posting this on my blog so that I can be held accountable.  No more excuses of putting junk into my body and then complaining about how bad I feel!

DAY 1 Wednesday, September 27, 2012

Breakfast

Egg and tofu scramble with onions and mushrooms.

1/2 an apple

Lunch

Dr. Furhman’s Famous Anti-Cancer Soup

Protein Snack Box from Starbuck’s (without the cheese)

Dinner

Vegan Chile Relleno

1/2 glass red wine

The scrambled eggs were pretty good.  The tofu has a scrambled egg consistency and it takes on the flavors of the other foods.  The soup took awhile to make, but it made a lot.  I poured some in  big mug and took it on the road with me.  It’s loaded with vegetables, beans and cashews.  It is all pureed so that it is thick and creamy.  I made a batch of the soup last week and put a bit too much kale in it.  Some of my family members suffered from the excess kale.  Lesson learned. For dinner, I met my husband at a Doubletree restaurant. I ordered the vegan Chile Relleno.  It was a roasted chili stuffed with quinoa and chickpeas.  It was very good.

Day 1 of Eat to Live done!

Family

I’m having fun planning a project for my dad’s birthday.  My mom is helping me and it has been fun conspiring together.  I’ll let you know how the final product turns out.  I posted awhile back about my mom’s birthday gift that I made for her.  I took her mother’s handwritten recipes and had them printed on fabric and made into tea towels.  She called me when she opened it and I guess she like them.  She was crying too hard to say much.  I guess some gifts are too sentimental. 🙂

School

I’ve never been so excited to receive a grade of 80 in my life.  I got my stats test back and I was SO glad that I passed.  That’s about all I want to say about that.

Leave a Reply

