Sentimental Journey

Maybe it’s the change of the seasons, or my age, or maybe it’s because our oldest child has moved out, but sentimental connections seem to be an ever present theme in my life right now.  Today our beautiful daughter turned 19 and I was so grateful to have the chance to spend the afternoon with her having tea downtown.  After putting in a few hours at work (and waiting for a student who didn’t show up for an appointment), I got to spend some time with my daughter.  It’s her first birthday that she is not living at home.  We drove downtown and found a quaint little tea shop.  Little sandwiches of cucumber and cream cheese, curried chicken, roast beef, and Irish Cheddar with Apricot jam were perfect.  The clotted cream, scones and petit fours were as wonderful as the company. We drove around and did a little exploring and got a little lost, but had a lot of fun. Before we went out, I gave her a small gift that I had been working on for a couple of weeks. This is where the sentimental part comes into play.  When I married, my grandmother gave me a collection of her recipes that she had carefully written out. That recipe book is priceless to me. My grandmother passed away several years ago, but she was close to Kaitlyn.  I copied some of the recipes onto fabric (www.spoonflower.com) and made them in to tea towels for her.  She will always have a part of Mema with her, no matter where her journey leads her.

Shrimp Gumbo Recipe

One thought on “Sentimental Journey

  1. Pingback: Sentimental Journey | The Journey

Leave a Reply

