Hanging On and Letting Go

Today we moved my daughter into her new apartment for college.  She has been anxiously awaiting move-in day and planning how she will arrange all of her stuff.  It’s hard to be melancholy when she is so excited.  Tomorrow we will move a few more things and see her at church.  I think that is the only reason why I haven’t spent all day in tears.

In anticipation of her move, she asked me to write down some simple recipes and some “first aid stuff”, so I started on The Book of Mom.  Cleaning tips, cooking tips, recipes and all of those things that moms know.  I tried to think of all the things that would help her make it on her own.

When I graduated college and got married, my grandmother wrote out her recipes and put them in a book for me.  My mother-in-law did the same thing.  Those books are among my most prized possessions.  Now it is my turn to write out my recipes.

It’s encouraging to me that my daughter wants to hang on to some of our family recipes and my advice as she leaves the nest.  I wonder if hanging on to family traditions makes it easier to let go and move on.

Leave a Reply

